Dr. Osasuyi Aihie (Head of Department, Political Science)

Welcome Address

The objectives of the Department, apart from research and dissemination, are to:
i. Equip students with sound knowledge of the scope, methods and content of Political Science and its sub-fields;
ii. Equip graduates with awareness, exposure, sensitivity, skills and competence needed for recognizing, defining and analyzing socio-political problems and addressing managerial, developmental and technological needs and challenges.
iii. Develop leadership, managerial and entrepreneurial skills required for active roles in the management of the public sector, the non-governmental organizations, the private sector and self-employment.
iv. Train a generation of young graduates in sound theoretical, empirical, analytical and practical knowledge and experiences, exposure and competence to stay at the cutting edge of any vocation in the public and private sector.
v. Produce well rounded middle and high level manpower that would be able to rigorously grapple with the enormous analytical, theoretical, and technological and information challenges of the 21st century.


In 1975, the Political Science Department was housed by the then all embracing Department of Social Sciences which comprised the four units of Political Science, Economics, Business Studies, Geography and Sociology. Thereafter, with the increase in its staff strength, the Department of Political Science and Pubic Administration got established in 1977 as one of the academic departments in the then Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. Currently, the Department of Political Science remains one of the best departments in the Faculty of Social Sciences despite its split with Public Administration in 2014.


Admission Requirements for the Four-year Full-Time Degree Programme: All Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) candidates seeking admission into this Programme should possess any of the following qualifications:

At least five credit passes in WASC/SSCE/NECO or GCE (O/L) or equivalent at least five merits passes in TC II. This must include English Language and Mathematics plus Government or History, and any social science subject.

These must have been obtained in not more than two examination sittings.

(ii)        Students for the four-year degree programme must take the following subjects at the UTME

(i)         Use of English Language

(ii)        Government or History

(iii)       One other Social Science Subject

(iv)       Another Arts or Social Science subject.


  • Requirement A (i) above plus
  • GCE (A/L) passes or H.SC (Principal level passes) in at least two social science subjects one of which must be Government


  • Holders of the NCE with specialization in Government or History and any other social science subject with an overall pass with merit.
  • Holders of the Diploma in Public Administration (DPA) of the University of Benin or any other recognized institution with at least an overall pass with credit.
  • Holders of Diploma in Local Government of any recognized institution with at least an overall pass with credit.
  • Holders of Diploma in Social Work (DSW) of the University of Benin or any other recognized institution with at least an overall pass with credit.
  • Holders of the Diploma in International Relations of any recognized institution with at least an overall pass with credit.

(d) Programme/sub-discipline/discipline to include period of formal studies in the universities industrial training scheme, planned visit and projects.


The Department is well endowed with experienced and competent lecturers who have varied educational backgrounds and methodological orientations. This provides a wide variety of courses and perspectives in the study of politics. Moreover, students are well prepared in the sub-fields of comparative politics and developmental studies, international relations, political theory and public administration. Adequate attention is also paid to giving students a strong methodological grounding which prepares them for research work. The Department, in addition, organizes staff and student seminars on a regular basis, thus providing lively academic controversy on critical issues in politics and research.


With the full support of the Department, there exists a very virile student organization – the University of Benin Chapter of the National Association of Political Science Students (NAPSS). Indeed, the idea of a National Association originated from the then Political Science Students Association (POLSSA) in this Department and was spearheaded by the Executive of UNIBEN POLSSA which eventually provided the first national executive of NAPPSS, NAPSS (UNIBEN Chapter). It organizes an annual Political Science week symposium and public lectures on burning national issues.