Welcome to the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Welcome to the Faculty of Social Sciences!

Presently, the Faculty of Social Sciences offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes in six departments: Economics; Geography & Regional Planning; Political Science; Public Administration; Social Work; and Sociology & Anthropology. 

The mission of the Faculty of Social Sciences is primarily to produce graduates who are soundly trained and can bring such robust knowledge and skills to bear in whatever roles they may be called upon to play in the course of national development. The Honours Degree Programme in the Faculty is designed to cater to diverse educational interests. The objective is to always prepare our students and nurture their critical thinking and social inquiryfor personal and future career development, in the milieu of professional paths in both private and public sectors.

In this Faculty, we are not only interested in the knowledge that students will gain, but also in the character moulding process to produce all-round graduates that are found worthy in character and learning.  The training in the Faculty is geared towards producing young men and women who will be productive and patriotic members of society. They are also to be armed with the ability to be analytical, innovative, communicate effectively, and have sound ethical foundation. 

The Faculty has carefully and expansively selected courses for our students, in compliance with the guidelines of the National Universities Commission  (NUC), to offer our students the best in instructions, critical thinking, and practical skills that will make them compete confidently with their contemporaries nationally and internationally. Many of our graduands (alumni) are leaders and top fliers in the public and private spheres locally and abroad. Indeed, the Faculty of Social Sciences is the faculty of great repute in the University of Benin and beyond. 

We welcome our students to partake in this interesting academic journey to equip them to achieve their dreams in life.

Professor Kokunre A. Eghafona

Acting Dean,

Faculty of Social Sciences


The Faculty of Social Sciences consists of the following six departments:

A.        Economics

B.         Geography and Regional Planning

C.         Political Science

D.        Public Administration

E.         Social Work

F.         Sociology and Anthropology


Each department within the Faculty has its own specific requirements with respect, to admission, into various Part-Time Programmes but these in general conform to the minimum of the University’s Matriculation Requirements.

The requirements for each department are specified in various programmes.

A.        DEGREE PROGRAMMES AND REQUIREMENTS: The Faculty of Social Sciences offers Single and Combined Honours Degree. The Degree requirements include compulsory courses in General Studies, and all students in the University are required to pass examinations in the courses before they can graduate.

B.         SINGLE HONOURS DEGREES Students admitted by Entrance Examination shall, in their First Year, in addition to General Studies take Full Courses from three subject areas (Departments). The most appropriate subjects area will be as defined by the major department into which a student has been admitted.

During the Second Year, the student (whether promoted from 100 level or newly admitted into 200 level by Direct Entry) takes Full Courses from his/her major department and a number of courses from the second and third subjects areas in accordance with the regulations of his/her major department. Direct Entry students will normally take the General Studies Courses this year.

At the beginning of the Third Year, students opt for Single or Combined Honours Programmes, normally on the basis of the academic standing and career plans. Single Honours Students take Full Courses exclusively from their major departments during the Third and Fourth Years. Combined Honours Students take about equal number of courses from the two Departments they are combining during the Third and Fourth Years of the Programmes.

C.         COMBINED HONOURS DEGREE: Students who so desire and on the basis of their academic interests and/or potential, may be able to combine any two of the subject areas available in the Faculty. Students may also combine a Social Science subject with a subject offered in another Faculty.